National Novel Writing Month

The best things that have happened to me are as follows:

  • Meeting my husband-to-be, and the consequent beautiful daughters, who are the centre of my world.
  • Kate on Thin Ice’s utterly groovy blog-hop which is encouraging me to make the changes in my life that I have long wanted to.
  • National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo, which has done for my writing what chocolate does for my mood. That is, improve it drastically.
So today I am focussing on NaNoWriMo. For those who have not heard of it before, it is a challenge where writers of all abilities and levels of experience, all walks of life, try to write a novel of 50,000 words (or more!) during the month of November. It was originally founded by Chris Baty in California, but now I think ‘national’ is a huge understatement as writers join in from all over the world. It’s a fabulous community to be a part of.

I have completed the challenge once before, on my first attempt in 2008. The novel has sat holey and full of mistakes ever since, but I am still so proud of what I achieved. I love my characters and I love my novel, and one day perhaps I will be brave enough to have a go at editing it into an actual story. The following year I wasn’t so successful, only getting about half-way through, but I like to think of it as 26,000 words I wouldn’t have written otherwise.

Last year I chose not to take part, but this year I am back for my third attempt and hopefully my second win!

I would encourage anybody who has ever thought they might like to write a novel to come and join in at http://www.nanowrimo.org! It’s tough, and so many times I have wondered ‘why am I doing this to myself?’ but it is possible! Plus it comes with such a wonderful sense of achievement, even if you don’t complete your novel, and such a wonderful community. For me it brings the drab, rainy month of November to life.

3 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month”

Leave a Reply

