My First Sewing Project

My trip to the local fabric shop was a success! I used my birthday spending money to buy some dressmakers’ scissors, some thread, some cute headed pins, and some cheap fabric. I think it was probably a bit more expensive than buying online, but for me it’s worth it for the helpful, friendly service I received. The lady in the shop made sure I had everything I needed to get started off, helpfully directing me to the scraps baskets where I could find very cheap bits of fabric perfect for practicing on. The shop, which is in Medway, is called Just Fabrics, and can be found on Facebook and Twitter.

So after the few tangled practice runs over the weekend, I sat down Monday night ready to begin my first ever sewing project. With my scraps of fabric and a bit of sturdy plastic bag for sound effects, I made a taggie blanket toy for Baby Turtle.

I made a few mistakes along the way, managing to sew the tags into the inside of the blanket and having to unpick a line of stitches, but in the end I got there and I’m very proud of what I managed to do. I remember as a child having a go on my grandmother’s sewing machine and not managing to keep the stitches straight at all, so I was really pleased that I only had a few wobbles.

I’m feeling really excited about making something else already. My next project is a miniature taggie for K’s baby doll which I’ll be making tonight. After that I’d really like to try making some bandana bibs as Baby Turtle is a dribbler and I love the look of them but not the price!

Snotty Baby L enjoying her taggie

I’m still on the look out for good sewing books, websites, blogs or videos, so please do tell me if you know of any!

7 thoughts on “My First Sewing Project”

Leave a Reply

