Hooray For Boobies! (A Breastfeeding Meme)

1. Why did you choose boob over bottle?

I don’t really feel like it was a decision. I just wanted to breast feed, despite most of my family (myself included) being bottle fed. The only reason I switched to bottles after a while with my first two is because I had concerns about their health, and I wish that I could have had more faith in my body and managed to nurse for longer. This time around I am really glad to still be nursing and wouldn’t have it any other way. I think if I had known before what I know now, I would have continued with breast feeding and not needed to use formula.

2. How long did you breastfeed or are you planning to breastfeed?

With my first two, I only managed a couple of months each. This time we are at 7.5 months and I have no intention of stopping until Baby Turtle decides she no longer wants to feed from me. Personally, I hope this is not for a long time as I love feeding her!

3. What is the best thing about breastfeeding?

The intimacy of holding her close to me, and having her drink the milk that my body has provided for her. Also now that she’s older, the way her face lights up a bit when she sees my breast.

4. Did you have to overcome challenges on your breastfeeding journey?

We have been really lucky. The worst I’ve had to deal with is sore nipples in the early weeks and around four months when she had a growth spurt. The soreness cleared up quite easily with some Mother’s Balm from Neal’s Yard Remedies that I was bought as a new-mum gift.

5. Who supported you the most with breastfeeding?

My partner has been great, and also a lot of women I’ve spoken to on parenting forums. I think it’s hard for some of my family to be as supportive though, just because they have no experience of breast feeding and don’t really ‘get’ it.

6. How did you feel when you first breastfed in public?

With my first I didn’t breast feed in public at all! I expressed milk and took a bottle out with me. By the second time I wasn’t embarrassed any more and now I feed wherever I am. I am proud of my feeding, and while I do it discreetly, I won’t shy away from giving Baby Turtle milk when she wants it. I’m lucky to have never had any negative reactions. Most of the time people don’t even notice she is feeding, even when they come up to coo and stroke her hair!

7. Have you been questioned for breastfeeding?

Not really. My family don’t really understand it. They seemed to think I was a little mad for having no routine and not knowing when she’d next want a feed. They accept that it works for us though. I expect that I might get questions as Baby Turtle gets bigger and if she chooses to feed later into toddlerhood or pre-school age. I’m not particularly worried about it though. I love nursing and will just answer questions honestly.

8. Has breastfeeding made you feel different about your body?

Yes, it has made me appreciate my body a lot more. I feel a real sense of pride in that my body is providing for Baby Turtle as she grows (and for Frog and Bird sometimes if I express milk!) and in the closeness we share when she feeds. It has also made me think a lot more about how I look after myself. I think much more about what I eat and drink because in essence it is also what Baby Turtle eats, so it’s making me more healthy in my effort to keep her healthy.

9. What do you wish you had known before making the decision to breastfeed your baby?

I wish that when I was feeding my first two I had known to have faith in my body’s ability to produce enough milk for them. I wish that I had known that even if my supply was lowered, it could be replenished if I persevered using formula just to top-up when necessary rather than switching completely.

I am tagging

Any boobie mum that would like to give this a go!

9 thoughts on “Hooray For Boobies! (A Breastfeeding Meme)”

  1. Thank you so much for linking up and joining in. Their cute little faces are amazing when they notice it’s time for a feed, isn’t it? Amy is now stuffing my nipple in her mouth and finds her little self-service absolutely hilarious…

Leave a Reply

