Curly Mum On The Mend

I’ve had a long while off from blogging. I felt I needed a break and it feels great coming back to it all again. It has reminded me of why I started blogging to begin with, and I’ve loads of ideas that I’d like to write about over the coming weeks. I’m really looking forward to reading the blogs I love again, and hopefully finding some new ones too! If you know of a blog that I should look at, let me know :)

I’ve been a bit up and down over my break, working with the doctor to find the right medication and dosage for me. He has been helpful and understanding throughout, and it seems like now we’ve found what works for me. Over the last couple of weeks I have felt much better than I have for a long time, and I’ve been returning to the things that I love. I’ve been doing a lot of baking, inspired by a book my mother bought me. (‘The Cupcake’, available on TheWorks.co.uk)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m also knitting Baby Turtle a blanket for her first birthday. I had no idea what to buy her as she already has so many toys from when her sisters were younger and I know my relatives are likely to shower her in gifts too, so I thought making her something that she can hopefully cherish for years to come was a nice idea. The only problem is that her birthday is fast approaching and I’m not sure I can knit fast enough!

The biggest news though, for me at least, is that I’ve finally managed to tell my parents about my depression. It took some mumbling, pausing, and a lot of help from my wonderful husband-to-be, but it’s done and it’s a weight off my shoulders. My mum has been as supportive as I knew she would be, and I should have told her much sooner. It’s a big step for me to talk about it, but it feels easier now that I have done it once. I feel much more happy and comfortable, and I think that’s really helping me to recover better. I urge anybody keeping their mental illness a secret from those that love them to try and muster the courage to talk about it, because it really makes a difference not having to hide, and having the support of others while getting better.

9 thoughts on “Curly Mum On The Mend”

  1. It’s good that you have shared your feelings with your mum, nothing like a mums support. It’s like having an angel on your shoulder. I’m glad you are back and I look forward to reading your post, even if you food pics make me VERY hungry :0)

    Baby Turtle’s pressie sounds amazing and its something that she can pass on one day. Enjoy the birthday celebration when the time comes.

  2. Firstly – those cakes look delish! What book has inspired such delights?
    Secondly – am glad that you’re on the mend and getting settled with your medication. The support from your parents must be such a weight off your mind. It is horrible having secrets. x

    1. It’s called ‘The Cupcake’ and it’s full of delicious recipes and techniques! I’ve done a search and found it on The Works.

      Buy ‘The Cupcake: Life’s Better With A Cupcake’ for a bargainous price!

      Thank you, it really is wonderful having told them, both because I don’t have to keep secrets and because it gives me extra people to talk to when I need to (and means my mum doesn’t get annoyed and think I’m antisocial when I’m too anxious to answer the phone!).

Leave a comment